Phrasal Verbs and questions.

Today’s lesson was more of a follow-up from the last, however students practised and learnt forming questions in the present and past for routine. The lesson also focused on listening activities, where students listened to Chrsitina’s bad day, and had to answer questions after listening to Christina talking to a friend about how bad her day was. Students then did some speaking in pairs. I first got them to write 3 questions they would ask their partner about Christina’s bad morning, such as why was she late for work?  In order that students felt confident in forming questions after the listening exercise I got the students to work out how to form past simple questions (did) and questions with was/were. I think selected a strong student to come up to the IWB and tell the students how questions are formed. (From my last obs I was told it’s great to use stronger students and I did and it worked fab!)

Once students had formed their questions I got them to stand up and choose a different student (not one on either side of them) I wanted to get them up and moving around. Next was more listening, where students heard Kashka, a Youth Worker and Cristina is interviewing him for a newspaper. I played the recording and two students asked regrding some words they had heard and wanted to know the meaning, (fed up). I played the recording again as I couldn’t get what the word was from their pronounciation. I learnt from this that it is a good idea for teachers to listen to recordings and note words/meanings students will ask, this will make it easier to explain new vocab.

There was also a task I produced on the IWB ( see picture below). I had a group of words scattered and students had to match and make phrasal verbs. They seemed to have enjoyed it, and not only did they learn phrasal verbs in the context of routine, but others too such as break-up. I would like to say that I used different colours to match the words, however it ended up looking quite confusing to the eye, so next time maybe I would just circle them in colours to match and write a list to accompany the words.

As it was the weekend, I gave students the final task to complete for homework as well as writing about 150-200 words on their daily routine and lifestyle. 20151120_154759_resized

One thought on “Phrasal Verbs and questions.

  1. I like the level of detail you include, Saad. Fine-tuning the visual (different colours for the words being a bit confusing) to improve access is especially relevant to the ESOL/EFL student and often overlooked (!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

